Rights Respecting School

We are a Rights Respecting School!

At South Hylton Primary Academy we have been learning about the Unicef Rights of the Child by working with the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC). This document outlines all the rights children have regardless of where they live. We know that all children have these rights which guarantee them what they need to survive, grow, participate and fulfil their potential. Unfortunately, for some children these rights are denied. We have also learned about the responsibilities we have to ensure that these rights are met and have received recognition.

What is RRSA?
The RRSA recognises our achievement in putting the Convention on the Rights of the Child at the heart of our planning, policies, practice and ethos. By taking these steps, we are helping improve well-being and develop every child’s talents and abilities to their potential. A rights respecting school not only teaches about child rights but also models rights and respect in all its relationships: between teachers/adults and pupils, between adults, and between pupils.
Our rights respecting school is one where:

Young people gain self-esteem by learning about the rights they have from birth and build from there;
Children learn the difference between wants and needs;
Young people learn that rights bring responsibilities for adults and children;
Everyone learns to use the language of rights, respect and responsibility;
Adults and young people model rights-respecting behaviour and language;
Children become active global citizens;
Children gain a powerful voice.

Steering Group 2017 - 2018

Our ‘Steering Group’ – leading their peers to become a fully ‘Rights Respecting School’.  Having already achieved the Silver and Bronze award, we are working full steam ahead towards achieving the Gold! 


Year 1 (Miss Newcombe):  Maisie Mae Jones

Year 2 (Miss Brown): Ebony May Rudlin

Year 2B (Mrs Collins): Millie McDonough

Year 3 (Mr Donaldson): Ruby Bradford

Year 3B (Miss Maughan): Pheenie Markham

Year 4 (Mr Lindstedt): Safa Khayam

Year 4B (Miss Black): Olivia Collins

Year 5 (Mr Butt): Francesca Nicholas

Year 5B (Miss Gilley): Cole Birbeck, Ella-Marie Evans

Year 6 (Miss Begum): John Gallagher

Year 6B (Mrs Lenderyou): Abby Blagdon